top of page

Aged Care Standards & Rights

The Aged Care Quality Standards are set out by the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission to define what good care looks like.

The Standards came into effect on 1 July, 2019, and all government-funded aged care providers are required to comply with them.

Older clients gardening

Aged Care Quality Standards

1. Consumer dignity and choice


I am treated with dignity and respect, and can maintain my identity. I can make informed choices about my care and services, and live the life I choose.

2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers


I am a partner in ongoing assessment and planning that helps me get the care and services I need for my health and well-being.

3. Personal care and clinical care


I get personal care, clinical care, or both personal care and clinical care, that is safe and right for me.

4. Services and supports for daily living


I get the services and supports for daily living that are important for my health and wellbeing and that enable me to do the things I want to do.

5. Organisation's service environment


I feel I belong and I am safe and comfortable in the organisation's service environment.

6. Feedback and complaints


I feel safe and am encouraged and supported to give feedback and make complaints. I am engaged in processes to address my feedback and complaints, and appropriate action is taken.

7. Human resources


I get quality care and services when I need them from people who are knowledgeable, capable and caring.

8. Organisational governance


I am confident the organisation is well run. I am a partner in improving the delivery of care and services.

Holding Hands

Charter of Aged Care Rights

Everyone has the right to always be treated with dignity and respect. The Charter of Aged Care Rights describes your rights as a consumer of government-funded aged care in Australia, no matter what services you receive. 

I have the right to:

  1. safe and high-quality care and services;

  2. be treated with dignity and respect;

  3. have my identity, culture and diversity valued and supported;

  4. live without abuse and neglect;

  5. be informed about my care and services in a way I understand;

  6. access all information about myself, including information about my rights, care and services;

  7. have control over and make choices about my care, and personal and social life, including where the choices involve personal risk;

  8. have control over, and make decisions about, the personal aspects of my daily life, financial affairs and possessions;

  9. my independence;

  10. be listened to and understood;

  11. have a person of my choice, including an aged care advocate, support me or speak on my behalf;

  12. complain free from reprisal, and to have my complaints dealt with fairly and promptly;

  13. personal privacy and to have my personal information protected;

  14. exercise my rights without it adversely affecting the way I am treated.

bottom of page